On Tour

All American: Copland and Bernstein

When: Thu., March 2 2017

Composer Aaron Copland created music that reflects America’s character as a country. This weekend at Severance Hall, the Cleveland Orchestra plays his Symphony No. 3, which Leonard Bernstein described as “an American monument.” The weekend’s concerts also feature a recent violin concerto by Augusta Read Thomas and a suite from Bernstein’s score to the 1954 movie On the Waterfront. Katherine Bormann, a Cleveland Orchestra violinist, delivers the pre-concert talk “American Music, American Sounds” an hour before the concert. The concert begins at 7:30 p.m., and tickets start at $29. Performances repeat at 7 p.m. tomorrow (minus the Bernstein suite and the pre-concert talk) and at 8 p.m. on Saturday. (Niesel)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.