Music » Livewire

Alvin Youngblood Hart

Saturday, December 4, at Happy Days Visitor Center, Cuyahoga Valley National Park.

by

comment
Back in the '90s, just as the blues' first full generation of white practitioners began to gray and the black masters of the form departed with greater frequency, up popped a handful of young African American artists seemingly bound and determined to claim their legacy and revitalize blues from the bottom up. Artists such as Corey Harris, Keb Mo,' and Chris Thomas King (of the cast of Ray) dove into traditional forms, played them with authority, and gave the old blues a new relevance, connecting the dots from blues to soul, reggae, hip-hop, and other latter-day strains.

Oakland-born Alvin Youngblood Hart absorbed the blues during family visits to rural Mississippi in the late '60s and broke out with his 1996 debut disc, Big Mama's Door, netting the W.C. Handy Award the following year for Best New Artist. Hart proved himself to be conversant in both the rougher Delta and easier-going Piedmont country-blues styles, and emerged as a full-force blues growler in the tradition of Bukka White and Charley Patton. His third release, 2000's Start With the Soul, made the New York Times' year-end top 10 by sporting a vibrant mix of blues, R&B, and Southern-fried jam rock. His 2002 release, Down in the Alley, finds Hart back in the deep blues of Patton, Son House, and Skip James in kick-ass form.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at news@clevescene.com.

Cleveland Scene works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of Cleveland and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep Cleveland's true free press free.