Seasonal Special Happenings

Beethoven and Mozart

When: Thu., Jan. 16 2014

Continuing their year-long presentation of Beethoven’s masterful piano concertos, the Cleveland Orchestra presents Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. The piece, which premiered in 1807, was not only considered the most complex of the composer’s concertos but would also proved to be the last piece Beethoven would perform as a soloist. Presenting the softer, gentler side to the German master, the fourth concerto starts off unassuming but then builds to beautiful, sweeping melodies. Finding complexity in stunning solo cadenzas, the composition is still as breathtaking as the day it premiered. Tonight’s soloist, the critically acclaimed piano virtuoso Radu Lupu, is known for his brilliant interpretations of composers like Beethoven. Paired with tonight’s concerto, Mozart’s “Prague” Symphony No. 38 sets the pace for the evening. German composer Jorg Widmann’s 2012 work Teufel Amor receives its American premiere as well. Tonight’s performance at Severance Hall starts at 7:30. The orchestra performs again at 7:30 p.m. tomorrow and at 8 p.m. on Saturday. Tickets range from $31 to $149. (Patrick Stoops)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.