On Tour

Bruckner 7

When: Thu., Jan. 12 2017

When composer Richard Wagner died way back in the late 1800s, Anton Bruckner, an admirer of his opera Parsifal, turned his own Seventh Symphony into a memorial that featured soaring melodies that were both epic in scale and grand in design. Tonight at 7:30 at Severance Hall, the Cleveland Orchestra performs the piece along with a piano concerto by German composer Jörg Widmann, with Yefim Bronfman as soloist. An hour prior to the concert, Rose Breckenridge, a lecturer and administrator for Cleveland Orchestra Music Study Groups, gives a pre-concert talk. The program repeats at 8 p.m. on Saturday. Tickets start at $29. (Niesel)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.