Seasonal Special Happenings

Double the Pleasure

When: Thu., April 17 2014

Under the direction of guest conductor Herbert Blomstedt, the Cleveland Orchestra takes on two great works tonight at 7:30 at Severance Hall. The orchestra will play Dvoˇrák’s Cello Concerto, a piece the Bohemian composer wrote as a love letter to his homeland while he was staying in New York, and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6 (“Pathétique”), the last symphony he ever wrote (and about which he said he put his “whole soul” into it). The piece is so popular, you probably heard excerpts from it in films like Maurice, the 1997 version of Anna Karenina, Soylent Green and The Aviator. Student tickets cost only $10 ($15 if purchased less than one hour prior to concert start time). For everyone else, tickets range from $49 to $162. The program repeats on Saturday night at 8. (Niesel)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.