Seasonal Special Happenings

Modernist Music

When: Thu., May 8 2014

Tonight, the Cleveland Orchestra presents a program of Scandinavian music conducted by Osmo Vänskä, director of the Minnesota Orchestra. He’ll open the concert with Aulis Sallinen’s Symphony No.1. The neo-romantic Sallinen is one of Finland’s most important living composers. Pianist Garrick Ohlsson has more than 80 concertos in his repertoire, and you’ll hear his technical prowess as he joins the orchestra for Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto. Composed in 1868, this is Grieg’s first orchestral work and his only completed concerto. Ending the program is Jean Sibelius’ Symphony No.5, a work composed in contention with the rising popularity of modernist music in 1915. This year, Vänskä won a Grammy Award conducting works by Sibelius, so expect a masterful interpretation of this symphony. The concert starts at 7:30 at Severance Hall with another performance Saturday at 8. Tickets start at $31. (Eric Gonzalez)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.