Music » Music Feature

Regional Beat: Youth Forgotten


1 comment

Ghost of a Fallen Empire (self-released)

You could call Youth Forgotten a super group. The lineup consists of singer J.C. Koszewski (Dead Even), lead guitarist Matt Brewer (ex-Integrity), drummer Rob Walters (Salt The Wound), guitarist Aaron Salo (Above This Fire) and bassist Jim LaMarca (Chimaira), all of whom represent some of the finest musicians on the local dark hardcore/metal scene. Recorded locally at Rob Arnold's RobArnoldWorld, Ghost of a Fallen Empire starts fast and furious with the parched vocals of "Anthem," a song that commences as thrash metal but finishes on a mellower note after a nice mid-song bridge. Sneering vocals cut to the core in "Revolution for Nothing" and a menacing howl kicks off "Take Control." With its dense layer of noise, "Unite the City" serves as the standout track and suggests the band isn't content to stick with the tried and true. An impressive debut.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected].

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.