Music Around Town

Shostakovich’s Fourth Symphony

When: Thu., Jan. 14 2016

When he began work on his Fourth Symphony, composer Dmitri Shostakovich was held in high regard in the Soviet Union. But then, Soviet leader Joseph Stalin denounced his music and Shostakovich withdrew the score to his Fourth Symphony. It was not performed until 25 years later, at which point Stalin was dead. Tonight at 7:30 at Severance Hall, the Cleveland Orchestra performs the piece. The concert opens with the American premiere of a recent work titled let me tell you by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, who received the 2016 Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition for the piece. The soloist is Canadian soprano Barbara Hannigan, for whom the work was written. A pre-concert talk about Shakespeare and Shostakovich with guest speaker Meaghan Heinrich, director of conservatory connections, Wisconsin Conservatory of Music, takes place an hour before the concert begins. The concert repeats tomorrow at 8 p.m. Tickets start at $29. (Niesel)

Add a review


Select a star to rate.