This Just In... Concert Announcements

by

Norah Jones plays the State Theater May 9
Break out the vintage T-shirts: 52 new shows this week. Loud stuff from sludge pioneers Blue Cheer to the aggressively experimental Extreme Noise Terror. Red-hot emo pop from Fall Out Boy. Rachel Z gives pop and rock the jazz-piano treatment. Paradise City covers Guns 'N Roses, with nearly as many original GNR members as the actual band's current lineup. Molten metal from Teeth of the Hydra. A special week of tributes to Frank Zappa. And much, much more.... WEDNESDAY, FEB. 14 Project-Object (Ike Willis and others perform the music of Frank Zappa): 7 p.m., free with reservation (edurockhall.org or 216-515-8426). Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, 1 Key Plaza. THURSDAY, FEB. 15 An Evening With Adrian Belew: Thu., Feb. 15, 7 p.m., free with reservation (eduorckhall.org; 216-515-8426). Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, 1 Key Plaza. FRIDAY, FEB. 16 Dances With White Girls: Debut of monthly Shake & Pop party. Fri., Feb. 16. The Mercury Lounge, 1392 W. 6th St., 216-566-8840. Eric Bibb: Fri., Feb. 16, 8 p.m., $5-$15. Cuyahoga Valley National Park Happy Days Visitor Center, Rt. 303, Peninsula. Red {an Orchestra} presents The Importance of Being Zappa: Red performs Zappa classical material. 8 p.m. Fri., Feb. 16 and Sat., Feb. 17 , $15/$35/$65 (www.RedAnOrchestra.org or 216-361-1733). Masonic Auditorium, 3615 Euclid Ave. Tie-Dye Harvest Reunion: Fri., Feb. 16, 9:30 p.m. West Park Station, 17015 Lorain Rd., Parma Hts., 216-476-2000. SATURDAY, FEB 17 Red {an Orchestra} presents The Importance of Being Zappa: See Friday. THIS JUST IN... Antibalas: Wed., May 2, 9 p.m., $15. Beachland Ballroom. John Arnold: Fri., Feb. 23. Touch Supper Club. Brian Auger's Oblivion Express/Savoy Brown: Fri., Feb. 23, 8:30 p.m., $35. Tangier Cabaret. Blue Cheer/An Albatross/Totimoshi: Thu., April 12, 9 p.m., $12. Beachland Ballroom. Captured! by Robots/Teddy Bear Orchestra: Fri., May 11, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Ballroom. The Colour/Jakeway: Fri., March 16, 9:30 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS. Lime Spider. Harry Connick Jr.: Mon., April 9, 7:30 p.m., $39.50/$59.50/$72.50 (Tickets.com). State Theatre. Dick Dale: Fri., May 18, 9 p.m., $20. Grog Shop. The Drifters/the Tokens/the Marcels: Doo-wop celebration, Sat., May 5, time and price TBA. The Kent Stage. Extreme Noise Terror/Phobia: Fri., May 25, 9 p.m., $12. Grog Shop. Fall Out Boy/+44/the Academy Is/Cobra Starship/Paul Wall: 6 p.m. Sun., May 20, $23.75/$39.25 (Ticketmaster). Blossom Music Center. Dominick Farinacci/Joe Locke Quintet: Thu., April 26, two shows: 8 and 10 pm., $20. Nighttown. Frigg: Thu., April 19, 8 p.m., $20. Nighttown. The Goodnight Loving/the Pages/Brennan's Revenge: Sun., Feb. 25, 9 p.m., $5. Beachland Tavern. Terry Grant: Sat., Feb. 24. Cloud 9 Ultra Lounge. Halifax: Sun., April 1, 7 p.m., $11 ADv/$12 DOS. Agora Ballroom. Humanwine (members of Dresden Dolls): Mon., March 30, 9 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS. Grog Shop. Norah Jones/M. Ward: Wed., May 9, 7:30 p.m., $55/$60 (Tickets.com). State Theatre. Greg Klyma, with Tom Bianchi and Ryan Fitzsimmons: Sun., April 15, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Tavern. John Legend/Corinne Baily Rae: Mon., April 16, 7:30 p.m., $39.50/$49.50 (Ticketmaster). Akron Civic Theatre. Leo/Psycher: Wed., Feb. 28, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Tavern. The Locust/Daughters/Cattle Decapitation: Mon., April 9, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. Stephen Lynch: Fri., April 13, 8 p.m., $29.50 ADV/$30 DOS (Ticketmaster). Lakewood Civic Auditorium. Stephen Marley/Jr. Gong: Fri., March 30, 8 p.m., $22. House of Blues. The Melodians/Yellow Wall Dub Sound, with Itawe: Sat., April 7, 9 p.m., $23 ADV/$25 DOS. Beachland Ballroom. Mixmaster Mike/Aqua Drums/the B-Live Dancers: Fri., Feb. 23, 9 p.m., $10 (216-664-1116; velvetdogameritech.net). Velvet Dog. One Dead Three Wounded: Sun., March 11, 7 p.m., $8. Orange Street. Paradise City (Guns 'N Roses tribute)/Randy Trask & the Detroit Buds: Fri., March 30. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Paulson/Baby Bear/CMAS: Sat., March 10, 7 p.m., $10. Orange Street. Davie Pietro Brazilian Quartet: Mon., April 16, 7 p.m., $10. Nighttown. Rachel Z Trio: Tue., March 13, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Kenny Rankin: Sun., April 29, 7 p.m., $25. Nighttown. The Reverend Horton Heat/Murder by Death: Wed., May 23, 9 p.m., $20. Beachland Ballroom. Sevendust/Red/Invitro: Fri., April 13, 6 p.m., $22. House of Blues. Maia Sharp: Fri., April 13, 9 p.m., $15. Nighttown. Steve Smith & Vital Information: Fri., April 6, 9 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Teeth of the Hydra/Hell's Information: Sat., April 7, 9:30 p.m., $5, 21 and over/$10, 18-20. Lime Spider. Toots & the Maytals/Toubab Krewe: Fri., March 23, 8 p.m. House of Blues. Type O Negative/Brand New Sin: Fri., April 6, 8 p.m. Agora Theatre. The Uncomfortable Pricks/Plastic Crimewave Sound/Harm's Way Fayre/Krauty McKrauty DJ set: Fri., March 9, 10 p.m., $5. Pat's in the Flats. Voxtrot/Au Revoir Simone: Mon., June 11, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Beachland Ballroom. Butch Walker & the Let's Go Out Tonites: Wed., April 11, 7 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Widespread Panic: Sat., March 31, 7 p.m., $32.50 (Tickets.com). State Theatre. Katt Williams: Sat., March 17. State Theatre. NEW DATES: Incubus: Sun., May 27, 8 p.m. Tickets for canceled show will be honored. SOLD OUT. Agora Theatre. Bucky Pizzarelli: 7 p.m. Wed., March 21 and 8 p.m. Thu., March 22. $30. Nighttown. SOLD OUT: Flogging Molly/Twopointeight/Street Dogs: Sun., March 4, 7 p.m., $20. House of Blues. Robin Thicke: Sun., March 4, 8:30 p.m., $20. House of Blues.

comment

Tags

Add a comment