This Just In: Concert Announcements

by

Get all the newest concert announcements a day early, every Tuesday at C-Notes. Every week is a good week to be a music fan in Cleveland, and this week is even better: 65 new shows coming your way. Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood headline the Tri-C/Rock Hall MusicFest Cleveland. As the singer for Grand Funk Railroad, singer Mark Farner holds part of Shea Stadium’s attendance record, but he’s playing Streetsboro this week. Aces pop-rock from the Almost, Underoath singer Aaron Gillespie’s side band. An intimate club show by the Bad Plus, the crossover jazz trio that covers Rush’s “Tom Sawyer” and Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World.” Superstar cowboy Brad Paisley. The immortal Lynyrd Skynryd. Killer grind metal from Whitechapel . Electronic-dance titan Tiesto. Wicked-trad Celt-rock from the Tossers. And Sound of Urchin, the best band you’ve never heard of; if you like rock & roll, you need to check ‘em out. Do it here: THIS WEEK: FRIDAY, JULY 27 Tri-C MusicFest Cleveland: Free, 4 p.m., featuring Red Wanting Blue, Dead Cat Bounce, Jazz Meets Hip-Hop, Stanley Clarke, and Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood. Tri-C Metropolitan Campus, Lakeside Avenue, downtown, between Ontario St. and East 6th St. Mark Farner (of Grand Funk Railroad): 7:30 p.m, free. Streetsboro City Park, Route 303 and Kirby Lane. THIS WEEK: SATURDAY, JULY 28 Tri-C MusicFest Cleveland: Free, noon, featuring D.A. Funkified, live gospel music, Lisa Parrott Trio, Stefon Harris, Freekbass, Miri Ben-Ari, and Cleveland Blues Guitar Summit. Tri-C Metropolitan Campus, Lakeside Avenue, downtown, between Ontario St. and East 6th St. Sonny Geraci/Billy & the Bullets: 7 p.m., free. Streetsboro City Park, Route 303 and Kirby Lane. NEXT WEEK: MONDAY, JULY 30 John Eddie/the Ryan Humbert Band: $10. Lime Spider, 207 S. Main St., Akron. THIS JUST IN Aiden/Drop Dead Gorgeous/Still Remains/1997: Wed., Sept. 19, 7:30 p.m., $12. Agora Ballroom. The Bad Plus: Tue., Sept. 18; Wed., Sept. 19, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. The Battlefield Band: Mon., Oct. 15, 7 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Beast: Sat., Aug. 18. Lime Spider. Tony Bennett: Fri., Oct. 19, 8 p.m., $50-$85 (Tickets.com). Allen Theatre. The Birthday Massacre/Encoder: Sat., Sept. 8, 8 p.m., $12 ADV/$15 DOS (Ticketmaster). Phantasy Nite Club. Black Mountain/the Cave Singers: Sat., Oct. 13, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Terence Blanchard: Sun., Sept. 9; Mon., Sept. 10, two shows nightly: 7 and 9 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Brett Dennen: Sun., Sept. 16, 9 p.m., $13.50. House of Blues, Cambridge Room. Collie Buddz: Fri., Aug. 17, 9 p.m., $20. Grog Shop. Circle (Finland)/Endless Boogie: Thu., Sept. 13, 9 p.m. Grog Shop. Deke Dickerson & the Ecco-Fonics: Sat., Sept. 1, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland Tavern. Dirty Projectors/Yacht/Vampire Weekend: Tue., Aug. 28, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Tavern. DJ Krush: Tue., Oct. 9, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. The Dollyrots/the Vacancies: Mon., Aug. 20, 9 p.m., $6. Beachland Tavern. The Dubb Agents (featuring Bad Brains' H.R.)/Broadview Gutters: Tue., Aug. 21, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. Matt Dusk: Fri., Sept. 14, 8 p.m., $15. Nighttown. Holly Golightly & the Brokeoffs: Mon., Sept. 17, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland Ballroom. Grand Buffet/Johnny La Rock & Mouth: Sat., Aug. 18, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Tavern. Hanson: Wed., Sept. 19, 7 p.m., $28.50. House of Blues. Heavy Trash (featuring Jon Spencer): Wed., Sept. 12, 9 p.m., $12. Grog Shop. Helmet: Tue., Aug. 28, 7 p.m., $13 ADV/$15 DOS. Peabody's. Ingram Hill: Tue., Sept. 11, 9 p.m., $12. House of Blues, Cambridge Room. Indigenous: Wed., Sept. 19, 8 p.m., $15. Beachland Ballroom. Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings: Tue., Nov. 20, 9 p.m., $15. Beachland Ballroom. Phil Keaggy & Glass Harp/the Codetalkers/Sultans of Bing: Sun., Sept. 2. Nelson Ledges Quarry Park. The Kissers: Fri., Sept. 7, 9:30 p.m., $5, 21 and over/$10, 18-20. Lime Spider. Toubab Krewe: Wed., Sept. 26, 9 p.m., $10. House of Blues. Lawrence Arms/American Steel: Sun., Oct. 14, 8 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Lions: Mon., Aug. 27, 8:30 p.m., $6. Beachland Tavern. Lucero/Bobby Bare Jr.: Tue., Nov. 6, 9 p.m., $12. Grog Shop. Lynryd Skynyrd/Blue Oyster Cult: Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30 p.m., $21-$50.50 (LiveNation.com/Ticketmaster). Through Sunday July 29: Four lawn seats for $59. Blossom Music Center. Mathew Dear/Mobius Band: Sat., Oct. 27, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Men Women & Children: Tue., Sept. 4, 6 p.m., $8. Grog Shop. Luca Mundaca: Thu., Nov. 8, 8 p.m., $10. Nighttown. Municipal Waste/Toxic Holocaust/Skeleton Witch: Sun., Sept. 30. Now That's Class. Brad Paisley/Rodney Atkins/Taylor Swift: Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30 p.m., $24.25-$54 (LiveNation.com/Ticketmaster). Through Sunday July 29: four lawn tickets for $69. Blossom Music Center. Anders Parker (of Varnaline): Wed., Aug. 29, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Tavern. Peelander-Z/Birthday Suits: Fri., Sept. 28, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Tavern. Potluck: Wed., Aug. 22, 7 p.m. Peabody's. Paula Poundstone: Fri., Oct. 26, 8 p.m., $10-$32.50 (Tickets.com). Ohio Theatre. Joshua Redman: Two shows nightly. 7 and 9 p.m. Wednesday, October 17. 8 and 10 p.m. Thursday, October 18. All tickets $30, Wed., Oct. 17; Thu., Oct. 18, $30. Nighttown. Rooney/the Hush Soundtrack: Thu., Aug. 30, 8 p.m. Agora Ballroom. The Rubber City Rebels/the Nimrods/Whornz: Sat., Aug. 11, 9:30 p.m., $10. Lime Spider. Bill Rudman: A Christmas Cabaret: Dec. 16-19, 7 p.m. Nighttown. Ruins (Japan)/Final Flu: Mon., Oct. 15, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Rwake/Total Fucking Destruction: Thu., Oct. 11, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Tavern. Sound of Urchin: Thu., Sept. 27, $7. Beachland Tavern. The Static Age: Wed., Sept. 5, 9 p.m., $7. Grog Shop. The Almost/Meg & Dia/Josh Moore: Fri., Aug. 31, 7 p.m., $9.23. House of Blues. Tiesto/Kenneth Thomas: 18+, Mon., Sept. 10, 9 p.m., $30 GA/$45 VIP (Wantickets.com or Poo-Bas.com). Metropolis. The Tossers/the Vacancies: Thu., Sept. 13, 9 p.m., $10. House of Blues, Cambridge Room. Turbonegro: Fri., Sept. 21, 9 p.m., $21. Grog Shop. Dolly Varden: Thu., Aug. 30, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Tavern. Weakerthans/Last Town Chorus: Fri., Oct. 26. Grog Shop. Ezra Weiss Quartet, featuring Billy Hart: Tue., Oct. 23, 7 p.m., $15. Nighttown. Whitechapel (metal): At Reet Fest, Tue., Sept. 11. Peabody's. Within Temptation: Wed., Sept. 12, 7 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Yellowjackets: Sun., Oct. 21; Mon., Oct. 22, two shows nightly: 7 and 9 p.m., $30. Nighttown. Zombie Ghost Train/Lords of the Highway/Scarlet Fever: Sun., Aug. 5, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Ballroom. CANCELED Sugarhill Gang: Mon., Sept. 24. Beachland Ballroom.

comment

Add a comment