This Just In: The latest concert announcements

by

This week, 37 new shows. The long-time-coming (partial) reunion of David Lee Roth and Van Halen, arguably the most spectacular rock band of all time (see the above “Panama” video, lest 22 years of Van Hagar have made you forget). Blaqk Audio, the AFI electro side project. Chilly folk from Peter Bjorn & John. Montgomery Gentry headlines a country festival. All the metal you can handle, with Job for a Cowboy, Gojira, and Behemoth on one bill. And Akron’s own Chrissie Hynde returns for a special homecoming. THIS WEEKEND: FRIDAY, AUGUST 17 @list body:<@list body bold>Pillar/Haste the Day/Red:<@$p> Blink Festival. Gates at nooon. $30 (Ticketmaster). Clay’s Park Amphitheater, 13190 Patterson Rd. NW, N. Lawrence/Canal Fulton. Yazarh, with the Voice of Soul, Mick Boogie, and Majette: 10 p.m., 25+, $10, dress code, Fri., Aug. 17. Sunset Lounge, 1382 W. 9th St., 216-535-0001. SATURDAY, AUGUST 18 @list body:<@list body bold> Daughtry/12 Stones/Anberlin:<@$p> Blink Festival. Gates at nooon. $35 (Ticketmaster). Clay’s Park Amphitheater, 13190 Patterson Rd. NW, N. Lawrence/Canal Fulton. THIS JUST IN: Laurie Anderson: Fri., April 4, 8 p.m., $15-20 (Ticketmaster). E.J. Thomas Hall. The Rocky Athas Group: Thu., Sept. 20, 9 p.m., $10. House of Blues Cambridge Room. Peter Bjorn and John: Thu., Nov. 29, 9 p.m., $22. Beachland Ballroom. Click "more" to find out who else is will grace us with their presence ... Blaqk Audio (members of AFI): Mon., Sept. 17, 8:30 p.m. Agora Ballroom. Crazy Joe & the Mad River Outlaws: Sat., Oct. 13, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland Tavern. The Dillinger Escape Plan/A Life Once Lost: Thu., Oct. 4, 7 p.m., $13. Peabody's. Eli Escobar: At Shake & Pop, Wed., Oct. 31. The Mercury Lounge. Embalmer/Thou Shalt Not/Blessed Sickness: Fri., Sept. 14, 9 p.m. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Enon/the Octopus Project: Thu., Oct. 25. Grog Shop. Montgomery Gentry/Little Texas/Mark Wills/Bucky Covington/Jason Michael Carroll/Cole Dreggs & the Lonesome/Lee Brice: WGAR/Verizon Wireless Country Jam. All-day concert. Gates 10 a.m. $30 ADV/$40 DOS (Ticketmaster). Children 5 and under, free. Sat., Sept. 8. Cuyahoga County Fairgrounds. Gov't Mule/Grace Potter & the Nocturnals: Thu., Oct. 4, 6:30 p.m., $28.50. House of Blues. Ground Zero: Sat., Oct. 6, 9 p.m. Beachland Ballroom. An Evening With the Charlie Hunter Trio: Mon., Oct. 1, 8 p.m., $15 ADV/$17 DOS. Beachland Ballroom. Chrissie Hynde & Friends: Sat., Sept. 15, 8 p.m., $30 (Ticketmaster). Akron Civic Theatre. In This Moment/the Confession: Mon., Sept. 24, 7 p.m. Peabody's. Job for a Cowboy/Behemoth/Gojira/Beneath the Massacre: Sat., Nov. 10, 7 p.m., $16. House of Blues. Loreena McKennitt: Sun., Oct. 14, 7:30 p.m., $39.50-$59.50 (LiveNation.com/Ticketmaster). Lakewood Civic Auditorium. Medwish International's Band-Aid Bash, featuring Sumrada, the Jimmy Maguire Band, and more: Sat., Sept. 8, 7 p.m., $125 (infomedwish.com; 216-692-1685). House of Blues. MT-TV/This Avenue Dark/Lick the Blade/Defiant Til Death: Sat., Aug. 25, 8 p.m., $5 ADV/$8 DOS. The Red Parrot, Lorain. 1990s: Sat., Oct. 20, 9 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS. Beachland Tavern. Eric Roberson, with Mick Boogie and Majette: 10 p.m., 25+, $10, dress code, Fri., Aug. 24. Sunset Lounge. The Romantics/Donnie Iris & the Cruisers/Will Hoge: At A Taste of Cleveland, Fri., Aug. 31, 7 p.m., $7/$20. Time Warner Cable Amphitheater at Tower City. Saves the Day (acoustic)/Single File/Dr. Manhattan: Wed., Oct. 10, 9 p.m. Grog Shop. Peter Searcy (and band): Tue., Sept. 11. The Winchester. Slightly Stoopid/Fishbone/the Supervillains: Sat., Oct. 6, 7 p.m., $17.50. House of Blues. Spectrum/Emeralds: Fri., Aug. 31, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland Tavern. The Spill Canvas/Meg & Dia/Playradioplay/Idiot Pilot: Mon., Oct. 29, 7 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Grog Shop. Spittin Image/Play Havoc/IV League/Proph the Problem/Buff 1: Fri., Sept. 7, 9 p.m., $6 ADV/$8 DOS. The Symposium. Suffocation: Sun., Oct. 28. Peabody's. Suicide Silence/Despised Icon/See You Next Tuesday/Winds of Plague: Sat., Sept. 22. Peabody's. Sunburned Hand of the Man: Fri., Aug. 31, 9:30 p.m., $.99. Beachland Ballroom. USSA (featuring Jesus Lizard's Duane Denison and Ministry's Paul Barker): Wed., Oct. 3, 9 p.m., $10. Beachland Tavern. Van Halen: David Lee Roth, Alex Van Halen, Eddie Van Halen, and Wolfgang Van Halen, Wed., Oct. 10, time and price TBA (LiveNation.com/Ticketmaster). Quicken Loans Arena. The Veils/the Muttering Retreats/the Coloring Books/the Formula: Tue., Sept. 4. Grog Shop. Voodoo Glow Skulls: Tue., Oct. 9, 7 p.m., $10. Agora Ballroom. Wednesday 13 (ex-Murderdolls): Wed., Oct. 10, 7 p.m. Peabody's. - D.X. Ferris

comment

Tags

Add a comment