This Just In: Cleveland's latest concert listings, grilled to perfection

by

Get the week’s concert announcements a day early every Tuesday at C-Notes. This week, 44 new shows to report. Van Halen tickets go on sale Saturday, August 24. The House of Blues welcomes Down, perhaps this generation’s greatest classic-rock band -- not that many people know it yet. (Click the link above for the video for Down’s “Stone the Crow,” which sounds like a hybrid of Sabbath and the Allman Brothers). Punk grandfathers Bad Religion are in town, as is the Mekons’ 30th anniversary tour and Christian post-hardcore sensation Underoath, with post-hardcore rawkers Every Time I Die. There's also world music from Ladysmith Black Mambazo, and, much, much more. Click "more" to get the lowdown. THIS WEEK: FRIDAY, AUGUST 24 Pretty Boy Floyd/Crash Street Kids/Readymade Breakup/Hero Patter: 8 p.m. Hi-Fi Concert Club, 11729 Detroit Ave., Lakewood, 216-521-8878. SUNDAY, AUGUST 26 Latino Heritage Day: Noon to 4 p.m., free. Featuring live performances by Los Boys Banda Dura, El Mostro Saboriqua y Su Grupo, and dance ensemble Imagenes De Mexico. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, One Key Plaza, 216-515-8444. 44 THIS JUST IN: Bad Religion/the Briggs/Gallows: Thu., Oct. 11, 8 p.m., $22 ADV/$25. Agora Theatre. Big D & the Kids Table/Whole Wheat Bread/Brain Failure: Sat., Dec. 1, 7:30 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Agora Ballroom. Boys Like Girls/All Time Low/the Audition/Valencia: Sun., Nov. 18, 6 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Brand New/Thrice/mewithoutYou: Tue., Dec. 11, 6 p.m.; Wed., Dec. 12, 6 p.m. House of Blues. Captured! by Robots: Thu., Nov. 1, 9 p.m., $8. Beachland Tavern. Caribou/Born Ruffians: Fri., Nov. 9, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Circa Survive/Ours/the Dear Hunter/Fear Before the March of Flames: Sun., Nov. 25, 7:30 p.m., $15 ADV/$17 DOS. Agora Ballroom. Cola Freaks (Denmark): Thu., Sept. 20, 9 p.m. Now That's Class. The Donnas: Sun., Sept. 30, 8 p.m., $15. Beachland Ballroom. Down: Tue., Oct. 23, 7 p.m., $28.50. House of Blues. Eyes Set to Kill/So They Say/Karate High School/Kenotia & Foxy Shazam: Mon., Sept. 10. Peabody's. The Flaming Lips: Sun., Sept. 30, 8 p.m., $25 (18+ only). Agora Theatre. The Good Life: Sat., Sept. 29, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Wayne Hancock: Thu., Nov. 15, 8 p.m., $12. Beachland Ballroom. Hopesfall/Damiera/Moment of Truth/Rosella: Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS. Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30 p.m. Agora Ballroom. Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers/the Alternate Routes: Thu., Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m., $12.50. House of Blues Cambridge Room. Ladysmith Black Mambazo: Wed., Jan. 30, 7:30 p.m., $22.50/$27.50 (Ticketmaster). E.J. Thomas Hall. Christine Lavin: Sun., Sept. 9, 7 p.m., www.Clavin909.com. Shaarey Tikvah. Bryan Lee: 8:30 p.m., $5, Thu., Sept. 13; Fri., Sept. 14. Fat Fish Blue. Matt Pond PA: Sat., Oct. 6, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. Pat McGee Band/Josh Kelley: Wed., Oct. 3, 9 p.m., $15. House of Blues Cambridge Room. The Mekons: Sat., Sept. 29, 9 p.m., $10 (21+ only). Pat's in the Flats. Melt Banana: Fri., Nov. 2, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Grog Shop. Motion City Soundtrack/Mae/Anberlin/Metro Station: Fri., Dec. 14, 7 p.m., $19.99. Agora Theatre. Johnette Napolitano (of Concrete Blonde): Sun., Oct. 7, 8 p.m., $17 ADV/$20 DOS. Beachland Tavern. Rod Nickson Project: Sat., Sept. 1, 9 p.m., $5. Fat Fish Blue. Pepper: Fri., Oct. 26, 7 p.m., $18. Agora Ballroom. The Pink Floyd Experience: Thu., Oct. 4, 8 p.m., $29.50 (Ticketmaster). Akron Civic Theatre. Chuck Prophet: Tue., Oct. 30, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Beachland Tavern. Project Object (Zappa tribute featuring Napoleon Murphy Bruck): Wed., Oct. 17, 9 p.m. Beachland Ballroom. Josh Ritter: Thu., Oct. 11, 8 p.m., $15. Agora Ballroom. Ruins (Japan)/Wolf Eyes/Final Flu/Self Destruct Button: Mon., Oct. 15, 9 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Saosin/Norma Jean/Alexisonfire: Sun., Oct. 28, 6 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Seether/Red: Sun., Oct. 14, 7 p.m., $20. House of Blues. She Wants Revenge/Kenna: Tue., Oct. 16, 8 p.m., $18. Agora Ballroom. Sinden/William Russell: Sun., Sept. 30, 9 p.m., $7. B-Side Liquor Lounge. Total Chaos/Al & the Koholics: Mon., Sept. 17, 8 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Underoath/Every Time I Die/Poison the Well/Maylene & the Sons of Disaster: Sun., Oct. 21, 6 p.m., $20. House of Blues. Van Halen: David Lee Roth, Alex Van Halen, Eddie Van Halen, and Wolfgang Van Halen. Wed., Oct. 10, 7:30 p.m., $57/$77/$149.50 (LiveNation.com/Ticketmaster). Tickets on sale Saturday, August 25. Quicken Loans Arena. Viva La Bands: Cradle of Filth/Gwar/CKY/Viking Skull/Vains of Jenna: Sat., Oct. 27, 7 p.m., $25 ADV/$28 DOS. Agora Theatre. The Waiting Room (Genesis tribute): Fri., Sept. 21, 8 p.m., $10. House of Blues. Ween: Thu., Oct. 25, 8 p.m., $25. House of Blues. Corrine West & the Posse: Tue., Nov. 6, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Beachland Tavern. NEW LOCATION: OM/Daniel Higgs (of Lungfish)/Circle (Finland)/Endless Boogie/Emeralds: Thu., Sept. 13, 9 p.m., $12 ADV/$15 DOS. Grog Shop.

comment

Tags

Add a comment