This Just In: Radiohead, Stone Temple Pilots, Robert Plant & Alison Kraus, and 53 others

by

comment
This week, an onslaught of 56 new concerts. Radiohead will rock Blossom, and the reunited Stone Temple Pilots will Stone-Temple pummel Playhouse Square’s State Theatre. Sarah Bareilles has been added to the Maroon 5/Counting Crowes show – you know, the girl who sings “Love Song” from that Rhapsody commercial. Led Zep frontman Robert Plant will be joined by Alison Kraus and a band led by T-Bone Burnett. And as far as the rest go, where to start? Read on for a full rundown of new shows, cancellations, and altered lineups. And tune in every Tuesday for more of the same. – D.X. Ferris CANCELED Sea Wolf/the Jealous Girlfriends: Tavern, Wed., June 4. Beachland. NEW LINEUP Dying Fetus/Origin/Sworn Enemy/Thy Will Be Done: Obituary is no longer on this bill, Tue., May 13, 7 p.m., 13ADV/$15DOS. Peabody's. American Speedway/Superbuick: Electric Frankenstein and Forged in Flame are no longer on this bill, Sat., July 26, 9 p.m., $7 ADV/$10 DOS. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. THIS JUST IN Abbey Road (Beatles tribute): Fri., May 23, 8 p.m., $15. The Kent Stage. The Afters: Fri., April 25, 8 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS (Ticketweb.com, $2 under-21 fee at door). Musica. American Speedway/Black Knots/Nick Wolff Band/Marks of Sin: Fri., May 16, 9 p.m. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Amorphis/Leaves Eyes/Samael/Virgin Black: Sun., Oct. 5, 7 p.m., $15 ADV/$18 DOS. Peabody's. Broken Spindles: Sat., May 31, 9 p.m., $7. Grog Shop. Battlefields/Amenra (Beligum): Sat., May 10, Battlefields/Amenra (Beligum). The Davenport. Below Jupiter/Burden of Evolution/Ben Barrs/Alen Madej/the Bootleg Brothers: Ballroom, Sat., April 19, 8 p.m., $5. Beachland. Big Leg Emma: Fri., June 13, 9 p.m., $10. The Winchester. Bobaflex: Wed., May 28, 7 p.m., $8. Peabody's. Roy Book Binder: Sat., July 19, 8:30 p.m., $15. The Winchester. Boombox: CD release party weekend. Both nights 9 p.m., $12 ADV/$15 DOS, Fri., Nov. 7 and Sat., Nov. 8. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Charlie Christopherson: Wed., April 23, 7 p.m., $10. Nighttown. Cotton Jones Basket Ride (featuring Page France's Michael Nau and Whitney): Tavern, Thu., June 12, $7. Beachland. Crypt Record Reunion, with Nine Pound Hammer and others: Sat., Sept. 6, 9 p.m. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Dark Lotus (Psychopathic Records supergroup, featuring members of ICP, Twiztid, and Blaze): Sun., June 15, 7 p.m., $23.50. House of Blues. Raheem DeVaughn & Chrisette Michelle: Thu., June 5, 7 p.m., $28. House of Blues. Don Dixon & the Jumprabbits: Sat., June 28, 9 p.m., $10. The Winchester. Dysrhythmia/Dohm/Clan of the Cave Bear: Fri., July 4, 9 p.m. Grog Shop. Eastern Blok: Fri., May 23, 9 p.m., $7. Fri., May 23, 9 p.m., $7. The Winchester. Ekoostik Hookah/the Bridge/Max Allen Band: Spring Hookak Festival, also featuring Winslow, Tropidelic, Steve Sweeney & the Spikedrivers, Colin John & Cliff Strbuck, Sultans of Bing, Burning River Band, Blonde Boy Grunt & teh Groans, Willy Mac Music, Cherylann Hawk, John Welton, and the Red Hot Trio. $50, Friday-Saturday/$40, Saturday (www.nlpq.com), Fri., April 25; Sat., April 26; Sun., April 27. Nelson Ledges Quarry Park. Elysia: Ferret Music Young Guns Tour, Tue., June 17, 6:30 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Fiction Plane: Ballroom, Sat., April 26, 8 p.m., $12 ADV/$14 DOS. Agora. Five Horse Johnson/Suede Brothers/the Brought Low: Sat., July 12, 9 p.m., $8 ADV/$10 DOS. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Ginny Owens/Farewell June/Vince Lichlyter (of Jonah 33): Wed., May 7, 6 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Goreaphobia/Nominion (Sweden)/Quinta Essentia: Fri., July 11, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Mic Harrison & the High Score: Tavern, Thu., June 5, 9 p.m., $7. Beachland. Hate Eternal/Soilent Green/Skeletonwitch/Toxic Holocaust: Thu., April 24, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$120 DOS. Peabody's. Junior Revolution/As If/Petting Zeus/Quiet on the Ride/the Hanks: Fri., April 18, 9 p.m., $6. Musica. Kids In the Hall: Sat., May 31, 7 p.m., $39.75 (Tickets.com or PlayHouseSquare.org). Playhouse Square. Less Than Jake/Goldfinger/Big D & the Kids' Table/Suburban Legends: Tue., July 8, 6 p.m., $23. House of Blues. Lydia/Brighten/Midnight Passenger: Thu., May 8, 7 p.m., $10. Grog Shop. Madball/MOD/Shai Hulud/Bitter End: Thu., May 8, 7 p.m., $13 ADV/$15 DOS. Peabody's. Maroon 5/Counting Crows/Sarah Bareilles: 7 p.m. Tue., Aug. 26, $25-$125/Four-pack lawn tickets $79 (Ticketmaster or LiveNation.com). Blossom Music Center. Frank McComb: Wed., May 28, two shows: 7 and 9 p.m., $25. Nighttown. Peter Murphy: Sat., June 21, 7 p.m., $25. House of Blues. Nada Surf: Ballroom, Wed., June 11, 9 p.m., $15. Beachland. Nonpoint/Scalera: Wed., April 23, 7 p.m., $10. Peabody's. One Under: Sat., June 7, 9 p.m., $10. The Winchester. Robert Plant & Alison Kraus (performing Raising Sand and solo material; band features T-Bone Burnett and others): Tue., July 15, 7:30 p.m., $25-$89.50 (LiveNation.com or Ticketmaster). Time Warner Cable Amphitheater at Tower City. Radiohead/Grizzly Bear: Mon., Aug. 4, 7:30 p.m., $30-$50 (Livenation.com or Ticketmaster). Blossom Music Center. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Benefit: Featuring performances by Patty Smyth, Sugarhill Gang, Foreigner's Lou Gramm, Shalamar's Howard Hewett, Wild Cherry's Rob Parissi, and Roy Head, Sat., May 10, 7 p.m., $15. Public Hall. Secret Lives of the Freemasons/Across Five Aprils/REd I Flight/Fallen From the Sky: Victory Records Tour, Thu., April 17, 7 p.m., $10. Peabody's. A Skylit Drive: Mon., May 5, 7 p.m., $10. Pirate's Cove. The Spill Canvas/Steel Train: Sun., June 1, 7 p.m., $15. House of Blues. Stone Temple Pilots: Tue., May 20, 7:30 p.m., $49.50-$59.50 (LiveNation.com and Tickets.com)/Gold and platinum VIP packages available via www.PrivatePass.Citi.com. State Theatre. Subnoize Souljaz/Potluck/Fear Nuttin Band/DGAF: Thu., May 22, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. This Is a Shakedown (live)/misterbradleyp: Sun., April 20, 9 p.m., $2, 21+/$5, 18-20. B-Side Liquor Lounge. 3 Inches of Blood: Wed., May 14, 7 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Peabody's. Tri-C JazzFest: Jazz Meets Hip-Hop, featuring Q-Nice, DJ Rob Swift, and Bill Ransom: Thu., April 17, 7 p.m., $25. House of Blues. Tribute to the Godfather of Soul: Bootsy Collins and TheHardestWorkingBand: Featuring James Brown rhythm section and Tony WIlson, with Bobby Byrd Band, Vicky Anderson Byrd, Escapism featuring Venisha Brown, I-Candi, Djizzle, ZionPlanet10, and Freekbass, Tue., May 6, 7:30 p.m., $36. House of Blues. Umphrey's McGee: Sat., May 31, 9 p.m., $23.50. House of Blues. Sachal Vasandani: Mon., May 12, 7 p.m., $20. Nighttown. Vendetta Valentine/the Western Civilization/Two Hand Fools/Lime Green Submarine/Sooner Than Later/Joe Landes: Thu., April 17, 8 p.m., $5, 21+. Quiet Bob's Bar & Grill. We Shot the Moon (members of Waking Ashland and Sherwood)/Wake Hollywood: Tue., April 22, 7:30 p.m., $8 (Ticketweb.com). Musica. Weedeater/Black Cobra/Bloodwolf/Forged in Flam: Mon., Aug. 18, 9 p.m., $10 ADV/$12 DOS. Jigsaw Saloon and Stage. Marty Wilson-Piper (of the Church): Sat., May 17, 9 p.m., $15. The Winchester.

Tags

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at news@clevescene.com.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club


Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.


Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.


Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.