Here are the Members of the First-Ever Cleveland Community Police Commission


1 comment
Dettelbach and Jackson announce the Selection Panel in July. - SAM ALLARD / SCENE
  • Sam Allard / Scene
  • Dettelbach and Jackson announce the Selection Panel in July.
Tuesday, Mayor Frank Jackson swore in the 13 members of the first-ever Cleveland Community Police Commission. They were appointed to assist with the police reforms as outlined in the Consent Decree and to increase transparency within, and relations between, the police department and the communities it serves. 

A selection panel appointed by Jackson in July vetted nearly 200 candidates over the course of 60 days before they produced their final selections.

"The process...was difficult but enjoyable," said Tri-C President Dr. Alex Johnson, a member of the Selection Panel, in a statement. "Our goal was to gain a forum to carry out the work and in the end I think this is what we have achieved.” 

In Tuesday's ceremony at the City Hall rotunda, both Mayor Jackson, US Attorney Steven Dettelbach and others praised the work of the panel and charged the commission with helping to pave the road to reform.

“We now have a Commission where police officers and community members sit side-by-side to deal with tough issues. They will all be committed to working together — and with the rest of us — to make this city a national model for reform,”  Dettelbach said. 

Here are the members of the commission, which (per the consent decree) represent religious and civil rights organizations, the business community, academia, organizations representing minorities, youth, and the mentally ill. In addition to the 10 members selected by the Selection Panel, the Cleveland Police Patrolmen's Association, Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 8 and the Black Shield each appointed a representative. 

· Mr. Anthony Body, Good Neighbor Ambassador Supervisor, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District

· Mr. Craig Boise, Dean and Professor, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University

· Dr. Kathleen Clegg, Medical Director, Recovery Resources; Director, Medical Student Education, UH Case Medical Center; and, Associate Professor, Psychiatry, CWRU School of Medicine

· Mr. Mario Clopton, Teacher, Shaker Heights City Schools

· Rev. Dr. Yvonne Conner, Retired, Greater Cleveland Congregations

· The Honorable Lee Fisher, President & CEO, CEOs for Cities

· Ms. Amanda King, Graduate Diversity Coordinator, Office of Multicultural Affairs, Case Western Reserve University

· Rev. Max Rodas, Executive Director, Nueva Luz Urban Resource Center

· Mr. Dylan Sellers, Children’s Defense Fund Freedom Schools

· Dr. Rhonda Williams, Associate Director of History/ Director, Social Justice Institute, Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland Police Patrolmen’s Association (CPPA) Commission Member:
· Steven Loomis, President, Cleveland Police Patrolmen’s Association

Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 8 (FOP 8) Commission Member:
· Timothy Higgins, Sergeant, City of Cleveland, Bureau of Community Policing

Black Shield Police Association Commission Member:
· Detective Lynn Hampton, Cleveland Division of Police, Personnel Department and President of the Black Shield Police Association


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment