Cleveland Will Host a CONCACAF Gold Cup Match Next Year


1 comment
[image-1]FirstEnergy Stadium will host a CONCACAF Gold Cup match next year, sometime during the July 7 - 26 soccer tournament.

The U.S. National team has already qualified. Other teams include: Canada, Curacao, French Guiana, Jamaica, Martinique and Mexico. A total of 12 teams will be involved.

Groups and scheduling will be announced next year. This is the first time Cleveland has played host to a Gold Cup match.

Beginning last year, the winners of two biennial Gold Cup tournaments in a row go on to face each other in a match to determine which CONCACAF team will play in the next Confederations Cup, an eight-team tournament that brings together the winners of various confederation championships and the World Cup.

Going back to 2002, either the U.S. or Mexico has won every Gold Cup tournament. If Mexico wins again in 2017, they will advance to the Confederations Cup.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected].

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.