Driver's Ed Soon Required for Ohio Adults Who Don't Pass License Test On First Try

by

comment
PHOTO VIA OHIO BMV
  • photo via Ohio BMV
Sorry to all the new 18-plus Ohio drivers out there, fresh restrictions will soon be in place. An Ohio law, effective Saturday, requires adults who fail the driver's test on their first try to take a driving course before the next attempt.

Currently, many Ohioans wait until 18 to get a license to avoid all the hoopla of mandatory (and dreadful) classroom instruction and 'in car' training given to minors. Under the new law, they could be subject to similar instruction.



Should an adult fail their first drivers test, they must take a four-hour (online or in-person) driving class. They will also complete either four hours of driving with an instructor, or 24 hours of driving accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21.

Here's a condensed version of the requirements for Ohio teens.



On top of that, Ohio lawmakers are also proposing a bill that would restrict licensed minors from driving between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m. Currently, restrictions for teens driving at night begin at midnight.

The bill also seeks to double the time teens must hold a temporary permit, meaning kids won't have a full license until 16 and a half.


We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected].

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club


Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.


Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.


Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.