Don't Miss the Cleveland Orchestra at Blossom This Month


1 comment
[image-1]The Cleveland Orchestra is home for the entire month of August this year, and a number of guest conductors and soloists will be featured at Blossom.

On Saturday, Aug. 5 at 8 p.m., Tchaikovsky fans can enjoy a whole evening of that conflicted Russian composer’s heart-on-the-sleeve music. Robert Trevino conducts his Symphony No. 5, and Behzod Abduraimov is at the keyboard for his Piano Concerto No. 1.

The following evening, Sunday, Aug. 6 at 7 p.m., Juraj Valčuha is on the podium and violinist Stefan Jackiw will be featured in Erich Korngold’s cinematic Violin Concerto. Elsewhere on the program: Richard Strauss’s Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks and his Suite from “Der Rosenkavalier,” as well as Nino Rota’s Suite from ‘La Strada,’ the celebrated Fellini film.

Guests on Saturday, Aug. 12 at 8 p.m. include conductor Gustavo Gimeno and cellist Johannes Moser in an exciting program of music by Ravel, Lalo, de Falla, and Stravinsky (his Suite from The Firebird.)

A familiar artist returns on Sunday, Aug. 13 at 7 p.m., when Richard Kaufman leads a salute to “the biggest, boldest, and baddest heroes of the silver screen, including Superman, Spiderman, and Batman,” with selections from Star Wars, Star Trek, and the James Bond films.

Purchase a pavilion ticket, or grab a blanket and a picnic to enjoy these all-too-fleeting outdoor concerts on the Blossom Lawn (where under-18s can attend free with adult ticket holders). Tickets here.

Every year, close to the anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Performers & Artists for Nuclear Disarmament (PAND) present a special commemorative concert. This year’s performance takes place at 7 p.m. Aug. 9 at Mahall’s in Lakewood, and features cellist Dane Johansen, violinists Ioana Missits, Emma Shook, Yun-Ting Lee, and Analise Kukelhahn, oboist Frank Rosenwein, violinist and pianist Carolyn Warner, and Anne E. Dechant and her band. The program: Grazyna Bacewicz’s Quartetto per 4 violini, J.S.Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1 in G, Paul Barsom’s Making Merry Hoohaw Over Misery for Oboe and Audio, and original music by Anne E DeChant. An offering will be taken up for peace initiatives.

For details of these and other events, visit the Concert Listings page.


We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Cleveland Scene. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Cleveland Scene, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected].

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Cleveland Scene Press Club for as little as $5 a month.